Touchdown Trouble

Are you ready for some football? Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561454976
  • Publication date: 08/01/2009
  • Page Count: 128
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561456147
  • Publication date: 05/15/2011
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Are you ready for some football? Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“Plenty of walloping gridiron action…unexpectedly potent drama.” ―Booklist

“An excellent opportunity for a group discussion and will be a fine addition to other popular play-by-play sports chapter books.” ―School Library Journal

Sam loves football. There’s nothing better than the rush he gets when his team, the Cowboys, are working together—moving closer and closer to the end zone.

But in a key game, the Cowboys beat their archrivals to remain undefeated, thanks to a major play by Sam. However, the celebration ends when he and his teammates make an unwelcome discovery: The winning play was illegal.

Is the Cowboys’ perfect season in jeopardy? Did they really deserve to win?

Author Fred Bowen delivers exciting play-by-play action along with an important story of winning and losing, truth and consequences, and good sportsmanship.

Discussion Guide available.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“Plenty of walloping gridiron action…unexpectedly potent drama.” ―Booklist

“An excellent opportunity for a group discussion and will be a fine addition to other popular play-by-play sports chapter books.” ―School Library Journal

Awards

Charlotte Award Suggested Reading List (Intermediate) ―New York State Reading Association, 2012

South Carolina Children’s Book Award (Nominee) ―South Carolina Association of School Librarians, 2011-2012

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

AR Level: 4.1
F&P: GRL R, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 660L
Themes: Football, Sportsmanship, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032030 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Football
BISAC 2: JUV039060 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Friendship
BISAC 3: JUV000000 JUVENILE FICTION / General