Real Hoops

Teeming with basketball action, this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561455669
  • Publication date: 02/01/2011
  • Page Count: 128
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561457816
  • Publication date: 07/15/2013
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Teeming with basketball action, this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“Capped by a tribute to some of New York’s playground-hoops heroes, this simply written tale in the Fred Bowen Sports Story series is chock-full of suspenseful game action.” ―Booklist

Can street ball and technical play mix it up on the court and score wins for the team?

Ben and Logan are looking for a new point guard for their team, and they are sure they’ve found one in Antonio “Hud” Hudson, the new guy at their school. But there’s one problem: Hud plays fast-paced pickup ball, and coach says that’s against the team rules!

So when Ben finds Hud playing pickup, he has to make a decision. As captain, can he help Hud balance his passion for the game with his dedication to the team?

Author Fred Bowen delivers another action-packed tale of skill, friendship, and teamwork as three boys work together to make the best of two worlds. In the afterword, readers can learn the real story of pickup ball and Holcombe Rucker Park, Harlem’s famous basketball court where many NBA greats—including Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Dr. J, Stephon Marbury, and Jamal Mashburn—got their start.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“This easy-to-read book has a nice blend of game action, lessons in discipline, and even some actual history of Holcombe Rucker Park in New York City…Bowen knows sports and his audience, and he scores again with Real Hoops.” ―School Library Journal

“Capped by a tribute to some of New York’s playground-hoops heroes, this simply written tale in the Fred Bowen Sports Story series is chock-full of suspenseful game action.” ―Booklist

“Local author Fred Bowen never disappoints. His many action-packed novels speak to the hearts and minds of young sports lovers, and he demonstrates know-how and grace in writing about baseball, basketball, soccer and football.” ―Washington Parent

“Lots of action and play-by-play descriptions will engage young sports fans and hold their interest… sure bet to hook the most reluctant reader age 7-12 who just also happens to be a basketball fan.” ―Midwest Book Review

Awards

Young Adult Top Forty ―Pennsylvania School Librarians Association, 2012

Young Reader’s Choice Awards (Nominee, Grades 6-8) ―Pennsylvania School Librarians Association, 2013-2014

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

AR Level: 4.0
F&P: GRL Q, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 630L
Themes: Basketball, Frienship, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032020 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball
BISAC 2: JUV039220 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Values & Virtues
BISAC 3: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men