Double Reverse

Calling all football fans! An action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561458141
  • Publication date: 08/01/2014
  • Page Count: 144
  • Size: 5-1/2" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561458073
  • Publication date: 08/01/2014
  • Page Count: 144
  • Size: 5-1/2" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561458493
  • Publication date: 08/05/2014
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Calling all football fans! An action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“This tale of confident persistence will ring true for all the kids who have been told they’re too small or too female…. An apt choice to surprise a young football fan with the power of words.” ―Kirkus Reviews

Do you have to be the “perfect” type to be a great football player?

Jesse is experienced as a wide receiver―but can he play against type and help his new football team as a quarterback?

The Franklin High Panthers need a new quarterback. Freshman Jesse Wagner knows the plays, but he feels he is too small to be QB material. Jesse’s brother Jay has a problem of his own: his college coach wants him to switch from quarterback to safety. The brothers agree on a deal: Jesse will try out for quarterback, and Jay will try playing safety. Meanwhile, Jesse and his teammates recruit an unlikely kicker for their team―a girl named Savannah who is a goalie from the girls’ soccer team.

In the afterword, Bowen provides real stories of successful professional athletes, like Pro Football Hall of Famer Fran Tarkenton, who did not “look the part.”

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“This tale of confident persistence will ring true for all the kids who have been told they’re too small or too female…. An apt choice to surprise a young football fan with the power of words.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Filled with descriptions of the games, practices, and plays, the quick plot and likable characters will appeal to football fans…. [A] solid choice for struggling readers.” ―Booklist Online

Awards

Young Hoosier Book Award (Nominee, Intermediate) ―Association for Indiana Media Educators, 2016-2017

Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Reading List (Intermediate) ―Kansas National Education Association, 2015

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

AR Level: 4.3
Lexile: 630L
Themes: Football, Teamwork, Versatility
BISAC 1: JUV032030 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Football
BISAC 2: JUV039140 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Self Esteem & Self Reliance
BISAC 3: JUV013070 JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings