Perfect Game

Baseball and basketball action abound in this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561457014
  • Publication date: 03/01/2013
  • Page Count: 144
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561456253
  • Publication date: 03/01/2013
  • Page Count: 144
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561457793
  • Publication date: 07/15/2013
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Baseball and basketball action abound in this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Perfect Game is about the important lessons sports can teach: How to play for the love of the game.” ―Tim Shriver, Chairman of the Board, Special Olympics

When he volunteers with a team of developmentally disabled players, Isaac learns the true meaning of a “perfect” game.

Isaac is determined to pitch a perfect game: no hits, no runs, no walks, and no errors. He can’t settle for less if he wants to make the summer all-star team. But when he allows a hit, Isaac keeps losing his cool on the mound and can’t get his head back in the game.

Then Issac meets a very interesting Unified Sports basketball player who gets him thinking in a different way about the whole idea of a “perfect” game. But will this change in perspective help him be a better pitcher?

Themes of kindness, friendship, perfection, and ability star in this inspiring installment of Fred Bowen’s Sports Story Series.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“A combination of fast-paced action, sports savvy young characters and authentic situations makes this novel a winner.” ―Washington Parent

Perfect Game is about the important lessons sports can teach: How to play for the love of the game.” ―Tim Shriver, Chairman and CEO, Special Olympics

Awards

Great Kids Can Read Award (Nominee) ―Greater Kansas City Assoc of School Librarians, 2015-2016

Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Reading List (Starred, Intermediate) ―Kansas National Education Association, 2014

Land of Enchantment Book Awards (Children’s Book) ―New Mexico Library Association, New Mexico Council of IRA, 2015-2016

Massachusetts Children’s Book Award (Master List) ―Salem State College, 2013-14

Maud Hart Lovelace Award (Nominee, Grades 3-5, 6-8) ―Minnesota Youth Reading Awards, 2015-2016

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

AR Level: 3.8
Lexile: 550L
Themes: Baseball, Disability, Perfectionism
BISAC 1: JUV032010 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Baseball
BISAC 2: JUV039060 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Friendship
BISAC 3: JUV039220 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Values & Virtues