Outside Shot

Looking for baseball action? Check out this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561459551
  • Publication date: 03/01/2017
  • Page Count: 144
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561459568
  • Publication date: 03/01/2017
  • Page Count: 144
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561459964
  • Publication date: 03/15/2017
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Looking for baseball action? Check out this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.</b

“Smartly using sports terminology and internal monologue from the protagonist’s point of view, this latest novel is bound to engage and entertain young readers who double as basketball players and/or fans. VERDICT A must-purchase…” —School Library Journal

Richie Mallon is known as “the shooter”—the one on the team who scores most of the baskets. Every day he practices at his driveway hoop, perfecting his technique. Richie never plays any other roles on the court, leaving it to his teammates to do the assisting and rebounding.

Under a new coach, Richie makes the team but isn’t given a starting position. So when his shooting skills fall into a slump, can he find a way to become a better-rounded player and stay on the team?

Bowen returns with another fast-paced story of sports, teamwork, and talent. The afterword offers real-life stories about some of the great shooters in basketball history.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“This latest novel is bound to engage and entertain young readers who double as basketball players and/or fans.” ―School Library Journal

“Bowen’s Sports Story series…regularly offers stories that are engaging, action-packed, and a great next step for struggling readers ready to move beyond the usual high-lo offerings available to them. This quick, satisfying installment is no different and should find easy appeal among reluctant readers looking for novels about athletes.” ―Booklist Online

Awards

Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Reading List (Intermediate) ―Kansas National Education Association, 2018

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

F&P: GRL Q, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 610L
Themes: Basketball, Sports, Talent, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men
BISAC 2: JUV032020 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball
BISAC 3: JUV030060 JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / General