Go for the Goal!

Get back on the soccer field with this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561456321
  • Publication date: 08/01/2012
  • Page Count: 128
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561457779
  • Publication date: 07/15/2013
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Get back on the soccer field with this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Josh is so excited when he earns a spot on the United, an elite travel soccer team with exceptionally talented players. So why can’t they win a game?

Despite grueling practices and talent, Josh’s teammates are prone to hogging the ball and seem to only play for themselves. He begins to wonder if made a mistake leaving his old team. But just when he’s about to give up, Josh learns that the 1999 United States Women’s World Cup team faced similar difficulties the year they won it all. Can Josh convince his coach (and his team) to use team-building exercises like the U.S. women’s team to make them stronger? Or will they continue to lose the rest of the season?

Fred Bowen returns with another edge-of-your-seat Sports Story Series title emphasizing the important values of teamwork and relationships. An afterword offers more information about the 1999 United States Women’s World Cup team.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“Soccer fans will love Go for the Goal! and so will anyone who’s ever played a sport and understands the importance of working as a team.” ―US Kids Magazine

“Excellent reading for sports-oriented students ages 7-12. The exciting narrative and page-turning action keep junior reader interest peaked.” ―Midwest Book Review

Awards

Delaware Diamonds (Nominee, Grades 3-5) ―Diamond State Reading Association, 2013-2014

Massachusetts Children’s Book Award (Master List) ―Salem State College, 2015-2016

Prairie Pasque Children’s Book Award (Nominee) ―SDLA, SDRC, South Dakota State Library, South Dakota Elementary School Principals, 2014-2015

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

AR Level: 3.9
Lexile: 590L
Themes: Soccer, Perseverance, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032150 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Soccer
BISAC 2: JUV011050 JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Other
BISAC 3: JUV039060 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Friendshi