Hardcourt Comeback

Calling all basketball fans! Return to the court in this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561455164
  • Publication date: 02/01/2010
  • Page Count: 152
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561456475
  • Publication date: 10/01/2011
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 7-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Calling all basketball fans! Return to the court in this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“Reads like a successful drive to the hoop—quick, purposeful, and effective.” ―Booklist

Brett Carter, the Wildcats’ star forward, is a hotshot on his basketball team—or at least he was. After missing an easy layup shot at the buzzer in one of the most important games of the season, he feels like a total loser. And things only get worse from there…

At his best friend’s birthday party at a rock-climbing center, Brett freezes on the wall. Then he blows an easy question in the American history bee at school. And when he gets back on the court, he can’t get rid of this terrible pounding in his chest. Brett is losing his confidence fast. With the championship game is coming up, can he overcome his fears and play like a “winner” again?

In the afterword, author Fred Bowen shares real stories of well-known players and their hard-fought comebacks.

Discussion Guide available.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“It reads like a successful drive to the hoop—quick, purposeful, and effective.” ―Booklist

“Bowen’s stories move along briskly with rapid-fire action sequences and end with surprising twists.” ―School Library Journal

“A compelling read for a young sports fan.” ―New Jersey Library Services

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

AR Level: 4.0
F&P: GRL R, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 620L
Themes: Ambition, Basketball, Confidence
BISAC 1: JUV032020 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball
BISAC 2: JUV039060 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Friendship
BISAC 3: JUV039140 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance