The Golden Glove

Ready to hit the baseball diamond? Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561455058
  • Publication date: 08/01/2009
  • Page Count: 120
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561456727
  • Publication date: 07/15/2013
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 8-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Ready to hit the baseball diamond? Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Jamie’s lucky glove is the most precious thing in the world to him. He’s spent all winter oiling it while readying his skills for the upcoming season. But what happens when he loses the glove?

After an unsuccessful search and a disappointing first game, Jamie realizes he’s lost much more than his glove. He’s lost confidence. So when he seeks help from the owner of a local sporting goods shop—a former minor league player—the old-timer shares the history of baseball gloves along with a few fielding tips to help improve Jamie’s game. But will it be enough to rebuild his confidence and replace the “luck” his beloved glove gave him?

Author Fred Bowen engages baseball lovers in this relatable story of self-doubt, luck, and facing your fears. In the afterword, readers can learn more about the history of baseball gloves.

Discussion Guide available.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“[Bowen’s] pacing is excellent and he has a knack for efficient evocation.” ―The Washington Post

“Bowen is quickly joining the ranks of today’s most popular sports-fiction authors…he skillfully interweaves fact and fiction and uses historical sports plays and concepts as a backdrop for the story.” ―School Library Journal

“Bowen is a natural when it comes to writing sports stories and informing his readers about the past. These books are perfect for kids ages 8 to 12.” ―Newsday

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

AR Level: 4.1
F&P: GRL O, Gr 3, Genre RF
Lexile: 620L
Themes: Baseball, Confidence, Superstition
BISAC 1: JUV032010 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Baseball
BISAC 2: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men
BISAC 3: JUV039220 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Values & Virtues