Full Court Fever

Ready for some basketball?  
Clear
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561455089
  • Publication date: 10/01/2009
  • Page Count: 103
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 7-1/2"
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781561457137
  • Publication date: 12/01/2012
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 8-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

Ready for some basketball?

Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Michael Mancino’s seventh-grade basketball team is what you might call “vertically challenged.” They have the skills, but what they lack in height has cost them the first two games of the season. So when Michael and his team meet Dikembe Obiku, a new student from Nigeria, they are sure they’ve found their saving grace. Dikembe is athletic and taller than most of the teachers, but there’s one problem: He’s never played basketball before!

Their chances of making the ultimate comeback seem impossible. That is, until Michael discovers an old issue of Sports Illustrated about the similarly vertically challenged UCLA Bruins who won the 1964 NCAA Championship with an aggressive and hard-to-beat full-court zone press. Can their team learn a thing or two from these Davids and take down their own Goliaths in the next game? Or will they come up short again?

Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story Series with full court, play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats. In the afterword, readers can learn more about the 1964 UCLA Bruins.

Discussion Guide available.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Fred Bowen

Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Reviews

“A must-have for libraries needing good sports fiction.”―School Library Journal

“Bowen is a natural when it comes to writing sports stories and informing his readers about the past. These books are perfect for kids ages 8 to 12.” ―Newsday

Awards

Maryland Children’s Book Award (Nominee, Intermediate Level) ―State of Maryland International Reading Council, 2002

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide

Discussion Guide

More Details

AR Level: 4.3
F&P: GRL Q, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 640L
Themes: Basketball, Cooperation, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032020 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball
BISAC 2: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men
BISAC 3: JUV044000 JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Intermediate