Wren Martin Ruins It All

From the author of Aces Wild comes a hilarious and compassionate romantic comedy for fans of Casey McQuiston and Netflix’s Love is Blind!
Price: $18.99
  • ISBN: 9781682635988
  • Publication date: 11/07/2023
  • Page Count: 400
  • Size: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • Age Range: 14-18
Buy from a Retailer:

Description

From the author of Aces Wild comes a hilarious and compassionate romantic comedy for fans of Casey McQuiston and Netflix’s Love is Blind!

Now that Wren Martin is student council president (on a technicality, but hey, it counts) he’s going to fix Rapture High. His first order of business: abolish the school’s annual Valentine’s Day dance, a drain on the school’s resources and general social nightmare—especially when you’re asexual.

His greatest opponent: Leo Reyes, vice president and all-around annoyingly perfect student. Leo has a solution to Wren’s budget problem—a sponsorship from Buddy, the anonymous “not a dating” app sweeping the nation. Now instead of a danceless senior year, Wren is in charge of the biggest dance Rapture High has ever seen. He’s even secretly signed up for the app. For research, of course.

But when Wren develops capital F-Feelings for his anonymous match, things spiral out of control. Wren decided a long time ago that dating while asexual wasn’t worth the hassle. With the big night rapidly approaching, he isn’t sure what will kill him first: the dance, his relationship drama, or the growing realization that Leo’s perfect life might not be so perfect after all.

In an unforgettably quippy and endearingly chaotic voice, narrator Wren Martin explores the complexities of falling in love while asexual.

Author/Illustrator

Amanda DeWitt

Author

Amanda DeWitt is an author and librarian, ensuring that she spends as much time around books as possible. She also enjoys Star Wars, Dungeons & Dragon-ing, and even more writing, just not whatever it is she really should be writing. She graduated from the University of South Florida with a Masters in Information and Library Science. She lives in Clearwater, Florida with her dogs, cats, and assortment of chickens. Aces Wild: A Heist is her debut novel.

Reviews

★“Wren (sharply funny, endearingly grumpy) beautifully articulates the loneliness of asexuality in a world that doesn’t fully understand or engage with it, and the trajectory of his story feels lovingly earned.”—Booklist, Starred Review

Sharp, lovable, and timely.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Employing Wren’s wry, prickly first-person POV rendered in crisp, believable prose, DeWitt (Aces Wild) delivers a nuanced, hilarious, and highly readable rom-com.”—Publishers Weekly

“A witty, feel-good romance with the perfect blend of tension, banter, and heart. Highly recommended.”School Library Journal

Resources

Fortune Teller

More Details

BISAC 1: YAF052040 Young Adult Fiction – Romance – LGBTQ+
BISAC 2: YAF027000 Young Adult Fiction – Humorous – General
BISAC 3: YAF058050 Young Adult Fiction – Social Themes – Death, Grief, Bereavement

Books By Amanda DeWitt