Hell Followed with Us

A furious debut novel from Andrew Joseph White about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and Annihilation.
Clear
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781682633243
  • Publication date: 06/07/2022
  • Page Count: 416
  • Size: 5-1/4" x 8"
  • Age Range: 14-18
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 14-18
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 14-18
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781682634493
  • Publication date: 06/07/2022
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 14-18
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 14-18
Buy from Peachtree
Other Places to Buy

Description

A furious debut novel from Andrew Joseph White about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and Annihilation.

Sixteen-year-old trans boy Benji is on the run from the cult that raised him—the fundamentalist sect that unleashed Armageddon and decimated the world’s population. Desperately, he searches for a place where the cult can’t get their hands on him, or more importantly, on the bioweapon they infected him with.

But when cornered by monsters born from the destruction, Benji is rescued by a group of teens from the local Acheson LGBTQ+ Center, affectionately known as the ALC. The ALC’s leader, Nick, is gorgeous, autistic, and a deadly shot, and he knows Benji’s darkest secret: the cult’s bioweapon is mutating him into a monster deadly enough to wipe humanity from the earth once and for all.

Still, Nick offers Benji shelter among his ragtag group of queer teens, as long as Benji can control the monster and use its power to defend the ALC. Eager to belong, Benji accepts Nick’s terms…until he discovers the ALC’s mysterious leader has a hidden agenda, and more than a few secrets of his own.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Andrew Joseph White

Author

Andrew Joseph White is a queer, trans author from Virginia, where he grew up falling in love with monsters and wishing he could be one too. He is a graduate student in George Mason University’s Creative Writing program and has a habit of cuddling random street cats. Andrew writes about trans kids with claws and fangs, and what happens when they bite back.

Reviews

“This book made me feel as understood and validated as I was unsettled and pissed off.  With vivid prose and a mirror held up to the ugliest parts of ourselves, Andrew Joseph White is poised to become a defining voice of our generation.” –H.E. Edgmon, author of The Witch King

“Gloriously dark and immersive, Hell Followed with Us cuts straight to the core. With its endearing cast, detailed worldbuilding, and breathtaking horror, this novel kept me at the edge of my seat. Hands down the best YA horror book I’ve read.” ­–Aden Polydoros, author of The City Beautiful

“A timely and riveting tale of queer teens surviving and resisting fundamentalism any way they can. Andrew Joseph White holds a mirror up to the monstrosities within all of us, and I couldn’t look away.” –Ray Stoeve, author of Between Perfect and Real

More Details

Books By Andrew Joseph White