The Bookshop Girl

by Sylvia Bishop
Illustrated by Poly Bernatene
A plucky young heroine hides a secret while trying to save her family and their magical bookstore from a dastardly villain in this whimsical middle grade novel.  
Clear
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781682630457
  • Publication date: 10/01/2018
  • Page Count: 135
  • Size: 6" x 8"
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781682631997
  • Publication date: 08/01/2020
  • Page Count: 144
  • Size: 6" x 8"
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • ISBN: 9781682631195
  • Publication date: 09/15/2018
  • Page Count: N/A
  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Price:
  • Age Range: 8-12
Buy from Peachtree

Description

A plucky young heroine hides a secret while trying to save her family and their magical bookstore from a dastardly villain in this whimsical middle grade novel.

“A funny, inventive tale ideal for booklovers.” ―Booklist

Property Jones and her family have just won the Great Montgomery Book Emporium in a contest, and it’s every booklover’s dream! The pull of a lever calls forth rooms full of marvelous wonders―from the Room of Woodland Tales with its squirrels and mice, to the rocket ship in the Room of Space Adventures, and the aquarium ceiling in the Room of Ocean Tales.

But there is more to the Emporium than its thousands of books in extravagant displays. In fact, the previous owner is hiding something that could destroy absolutely everything for the Joneses. Property has a whopper of a secret too―and it might just be the key to saving her family and their bookshop from the clutches of a nasty villain.

Sylvia Bishop’s fantastical debut explores themes of family, identity, and mystery while weaving an entertaining tale filled with quirky, memorable characters. Perfect for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events.

Author/Illustrator

blank

Sylvia Bishop

Author

Sylvia Bishop spent her entire childhood reading fiction, dreaming up stories, and pretending. She then tried very hard to get to grips with the real world by studying politics and going into social science research. Now, Sylvia lives in London where she's returned to writing her stories, preferably by lamp-light with tea.

blank

Poly Bernatene

Illustrator

Poly Bernatene is a visiting professor at Buenos Aires School of Fine Art. He has worked in advertising, animation, and comics, and has illustrated over sixty children’s books. He lives in Argentina.

Reviews

“Whimsical… Lively writing, broad humor, and a fast-paced plot will capture and keep readers’ interest, particularly those who, like the author and her characters, love books.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Winsome… Bishop’s fast-paced story charms and entertains.… A funny, inventive tale ideal for booklovers.” ―Booklist

Awards

Best Children’s Books of the Year ―Bank Street College of Education, 2019

Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Reading List (Intermediate) ―Kansas National Education Association, 2019

Alabama Camellia Award (Nominee, Grades 4-5 Fiction) ―Alabama Department of Education, 2019-2020

Delaware Diamonds Award (Nominee, 3-5) ―Diamond State Reading Association, 2019-2020

Resources

Resources: Discussion Guide, Other

Author Q&A
Discussion Guide
Personality Quiz

More Details

AR Level: 5.1
F&P: GRL T, Gr 5, Genre F
Lexile: 730L
Themes: Literacy, Family, Identity, Mystery
BISAC 1: JUV019000 JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories
BISAC 2: JUV047000 JUVENILE FICTION / Books & Libraries
BISAC 3: JUV013010   JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Adoption

Books By Sylvia Bishop