Stanley’s Store

Category: Series: Stanley Picture BooksThemes: Animals
It’s another busy day at Stanley’s Store!  
Price: $14.95
  • ISBN: 9781561458684
  • Publication date: 03/01/2017
  • Page Count: 32
  • Size: 8-3/4" x 8-3/4"
  • Age Range: 3-7
Buy from Peachtree

Description

It’s another busy day at Stanley’s Store!

“A terrific toddler time choice with loads of appeal for Stanley fans and those new to the series.” —School Library Journal

Stanley has fresh fruits and veggies to be unloaded, Myrtle needs help at the cheese counter, Shamus and Little Woo’s groceries must be rung up, and―oh no! Charlie just knocked over Stanley’s produce display. Even for an industrious hamster like Stanley, running a grocery store is hard work. But at the end of the day, Stanley retreats to his home, where it’s “Time for supper! Time for a bath! And time for bed!”

Stanley’s Store invites young readers to explore familiar grocery store processes, along with food choices and essential machines, within a simple, helpful story. Features cheerful, colorful illustrations rimmed in bold black and a visual feast of healthy fruits and vegetables, cheeses, breads, and—of course—sweet treats. Vehicle and gadget lovers won’t be disappointed by fun shopping carts, a check-out counter, forklift, and delivery truck.

Perfect for fans of Maisy, William Bee’s beloved Stanley series features the adorable hardworking hamster Stanley and his community of rodent friends as they work different jobs and help each other along the way. The sturdy padded picture book format is ideal for readers at a transitional age between board books and picture books, and the books are trusted models of basic preschool concepts such as colors and shapes, kindness and teamwork, community helpers, jobs and careers, vehicles, and daily routines.

Don’t miss any of the titles in the Stanley series!

Author/Illustrator

blank

William Bee

Author

William Bee is an artist and commercial designer who has worked for renowned fashion houses, including Issay Miyake and Paul Smith. As well as writing children’s picture and board books, he races a vintage sports car, is an international skier, and when at home tends his lawns and meadow. He lives in England.

Reviews

“Children will be able to easily point out squares, circles, and rectangles in the depictions of different grocery items, store fixtures, and character features. Describing each employee’s responsibility during a typical shopping day, this story shows how employees in an organization work as a team to enable it to function. A terrific toddler time choice with loads of appeal for Stanley fans and those new to the series. ” —School Library Journal

“A satisfying addition to the Stanley the Hamster series.” ―Booklist Online

Resources

Resources: Activity Kit

Series Activity Kit

More Details

F&P: GRL I, Gr 1, Genre F
Lexile: AD480L
Themes: Animals, Careers, Community, Process
BISAC 1: JUV002180 JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Mice, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, etc.
BISAC 2: JUV006000 JUVENILE FICTION / Business, Careers, Occupations
BISAC 3: JUV023000 JUVENILE FICTION / Lifestyles / City & Town Life